RSS

A Very Pleasant Christmas

19 Mar

Overlook Hospital
Summit, NJ
Jan 14 1942

From: Ruth (Barrell) Gray
To: Robin Barrell

Dear Robin,

You certainly could not have sent me anything that would have delighted me as
much as that album of photos of your baby. She is surely a dear and a beautiful baby. You
have a remarkable number of interesting poses for such a young child. I am very proud to
be her great aunt.

I had a very pleasant Christmas here at the hospital. Neil Irving had made me a nice
wreath for my door and Christmas plants made my room very cheery. Ruthy and I opened
our gifts here on Christmas morning and there was quite an array. Seven children and
fourteen grandchildren count up and they all remembered me and there are some others,
of course, as yours, to add to the total.

None of the boys could get home for the holidays. So it was mostly a Christmas for
the families with small children this year. 

You will be interested to hear that Joe has been transferred from Chanute Field to
the 62nd Pursuit Squadron now at Wilmington N.C. Municipal Airport. Joe seems very
happy over the change which now gives him active duty on the ground crew. He thinks
they may be called to go anywhere in or out of the U.S. at short notice. He left Chanute
Field on Dec 31st and had to report for work at Wilmington on Jan 2nd, which was short
notice too. He made the trip in the Olds car he bought this fall. He had a full moon to help
him. The worst roads were in West Virginia Route 60.

We do not hear from Charley.

I am expecting to go home on Sunday if all goes well. I have been sitting up in a
chair for some time and also do some walking.

How is your father? Give him my love and tell him Ruthy and I are planning our
garden already now that the new seed catalogs are out.

All the families are well and everything going as usual. The young folk had a fine lot
of skating and courting during the spell of clear weather we have been through.

With lots of love to you and Ruth and Ruthie

from
Aunt Ruthy

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 19, 2014 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
