RSS

It Is Sad To Think He Will Never Be Better

17 Mar

Overlook Hospital
Summit, NJ
Oct 10, 1941

From: Ruth (Barrell) Gray
To: Robin Barrell

Dear Robin,

Here I am, awaiting my fix-up tomorrow, and then it will be on the road to normal
again. I am in good shape and spirits to go through with it.

I did mean to answer your letter of Sept 18th sooner, but about that time I had a
slight setback for a few days and had to be in bed for awhile.

I think you did the right thing in taking your father to the Warren Institution. There
they should be able to care for him much better than in a general hospital. It is sad to think
he will never be better. I am so glad he had a happy summer with us all here and was able
to enjoy seeing little Ruthie for a brief time before he was taken away from home. I only
hope and pray that he will be spared from suffering and may go easily when his time
comes to meet again his sweet young wife and all his other dear ones who have gone
before. 

We are having a nice rain today, after a long dry hot spell. We have had no frost yet
but may expect one after it clears.

With a great deal of love to you, Ruth and Ruthie

Aunt Ruthie

P.S. Could your father appreciate a letter to himself or would messages you bring
from my letters to you be about all he can understand at a time? Of course I think of him
and pray for his comfort and renewed strength and health if it be God’s will. And always I
send my very best love to him.

I know you are always very busy but I do appreciate your letters whenever you can
find the time for a few lines.

Aunt Ruthie

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 17, 2014 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
