RSS

I Always Love to Hear the Latest News

15 Mar

147 Diamond Hill Rd
R.D. 1 Scotch Plains, NJ
Sep 2, 1941

From: Ruth (Barrell) Gray
To: Robin Barrell

Dear Robin,

I was glad to get your letter of Aug 17th and to hear your father was quite
comfortable after his long ride home.

I hope by this time he is home again from the hospital and recovered from his last
attack of that bladder trouble. He seemed to be feeling so well when I saw him last about
two weeks, I believe it was, before you took him home.

I have been spending a long weekend here with Ruthy and we have enjoyed our
renewed home life together very much. I will be going back to Ethel’s tomorrow and will
probably be there most of the time until my next session at the hospital which should be in
the next week or so. My surgeon has been off on a month’s or more vacation. I am not just
sure when he is expected back in Summit. It was very warm here on Sunday and yesterday
but is much cooler today.

Joe had a nice ten day furlough from Aug 8th to 16th at home, the rest of the time
on the trip. He looked very well. He spent quite a bit of time with me, and also had a trip to
the shore with Ruthy and Ethel’s family. I stayed with Katherine that day. Other trips to
Lake Hopatcong, Wallenpaupack and Staten Island made the days pass quickly for him.

Charley phoned from Provincetown Mass on Aug 11th. He was in Norfolk, Va for a
few hours on the 23rd of August while his ship was taking on supplies. We haven’t heard
from him since. He doesn’t seem to get the mail we send him. Ruthy had one letter she
wrote July 2nd and returned to her. The P.O. authorities seem to have no knowledge of the
good U.S.S. Long Island, though she has been in commission since early June. 

When you have time let me know how your father is coming along. I always love to
hear the latest news of little Ruthie’s advancement too. Surely wish I could look in and see
her.

With a great deal of love to your father, Ruth and yourself and Ruthie.

from
Aunt Ruthy

I will write your father a letter soon.
R.B.G.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 15, 2014 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
