RSS

Only An Unusually Inspiring Sermon

29 Jan

South Hadley, MA
March 8, 1925

From: Ruthy Gray, Mount Holyoke College
To: Ruth (Barrell) Gray, 249 Boulevard, Summit, NJ

Dearest Mama,

I thought of you and Papa a lot on last Friday which was such a beautiful day. I
imagine that with such an additional welcome you thought that New Jersey wasn’t a very
bad place after all.

I did mean to write to both you and Papa while you were in Texas but I let work put
it off till I thought it was too late to reach you. It really wasn’t as I learned later from Kay
that you were postponing your homecoming. I hope Papa is feeling more like his old self
now and that you are all well. There has been quite a bit of measles around here but I trust
I won’t get them before vacation (or after, for that matter). I have been combating bilious
spells for a week or so but have been able to keep working. Some people think it is due to
eyestrain, but I don’t think it is anything serious. 

Dr Harry Emerson Fosdick preached a wonderful sermon here this morning — his
first after his farewell sermon last Sunday in New York. If any of the vast crowd that
mobbed the doors (they came from all the neighboring cities and stood all around the
sides of the chapel) expected anything startling or sensational they were disappointed for
it was only an unusually inspiring sermon on an old and orthodox theme taken from
Ephesians 4:13 “Till we all attain unto the unity of the faith, and of the knowledge of the
Son of God, unto a full grown, unto the measure of the stature of the fullness of Christ.”

The core of his sermon seemed to be that religion is not an addition to life, a suppression
of life, or an abnormality of life but is life itself, because there are five things which are a
part of us all and which cannot be satisfied without true religion:

1. Joy — happiness
2. Conscience
3. Love
4. Mind
5. Hope
….
I am hoping for a check in the very near future as pay day reduced me to two cents
and I have a laundry bill to pay and some music (we can’t charge it) to get before my
lesson on Thursday, a 60 cent book for philosophy and a few other small expenses.
Tell Jack I wish him a very happy birthday. I probably won’t be able to send him
even a card but will think of him just the same.

Kay probably told you that I’ve invited Paul Brunning for Prom — May 1. I haven’t
heard from him yet as to whether or not he can come. This is one college occasion that I
don’t want to miss and you’d think it was next week the way all the girls talk about it.

I got a letter from Aunt Lilly telling of her planned visit in May and her general
dissatisfaction with the country and “aboriginees” of Oregon and about her millionaire
brother-in-law who is a good “catch.”

Fare-thee-well for now.

Loads of love and kisses, especially for you & Papa
Ruthy

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 29, 2014 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
