RSS

Papa is Getting Stronger Each Day

26 Jan

College Station, TX
Feb 15, 1925

From: Ruth (Barrell) Gray, % Donald Irving, College Station, TX
To: Katherine Gray, 249 Boulevard, Summit, NJ

Dearest Katherine:

It must be about nine o’clock now and all the Irving family are still asleep and
Grandpa Gray also. So I took advantage of the quiet and washed my hair and while it dries
I will write you a short letter.

The Dr was in yesterday and he thinks every one is doing well. Ethel and baby are
gaining in strength every day. Papa is getting stronger each day too but I think the extra
week here, if you can manage all right at home without me, will put him in much better
shape for the journey. He wants to take a day or two to go up to Dallas, probably the end
of this week so the Dr will look in about the middle of the week and look him over and
decide on his fitness for the trip. I think he will be all right if he takes it easy. Every day is
so much alike here, there is nothing to tell about. I told in Joe’s letter of our ride on Friday
afternoon. Last night we played some five hundred “North against South,” as Pa put it.
North was ahead when we stopped. 

Three weeks from now, I will be with you all again and that will be fine. It has been
so nice to be with Ethel and her dear little baby, but so many of my dear ones in N J draw
my thoughts that way very often. I hope all are very well. and every thing going smoothly.

With a great deal of love to each from Billy to Joe and an extra big kiss for Charley
and Joe and yourself.
Mama

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 26, 2014 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
