RSS

I Wish I Had Ozma’s Glass

20 Jan

On steamship
Feb 3, 1925

From: Ruth (Barrell) Gray, enroute to Donald Irving, College Station, TX
To: Katherine Gray, 249 Kent Pl Boulevard, Summit, NJ

Dearest Katherine:

I suppose you have received my letter mailed at Key West telling of the first part of
our trip. Since then we have had several varieties of weather. Sunday was a perfect day,
so mild, I sat on deck, even in the evening in my summer silk with comfort. Yesterday
evening or rather in the afternoon we ran into a shower or two and had heavy wind all the
evening. This morning we have not seen the sun yet but the sea is calm. I understand we
will not get to Galveston until three o’clock P M. We had booked up trains and find we can
leave Galveston for Houston at 6 o’clock P M and then from Houston about 9:30 P M for
College Station where we are to arrive at 12:12 midnight. Failing that we would have to
stop overnight at Houston and arrive at College Station about noon the next day.

It is strange to be long away from you all and not be able to hear from you. We
heard this morning that you had a 15 inch fall of snow on last Thursday. You must be
about buried by this time, but I suppose the shovels and plows have cut the main roads out
again long before this. 

Do take things easy as possible, and don’t bother about getting Joe to school when
the weather is bad, let him stay at home with you. May be you have had word from Ethel
before this. One is certainly far from the busy rush of our usual lives on these boats.

Papa has not felt so well the past two days, he seems stuffed up with gas or his
chronic bronchial cough. I hope he will improve greatly while we are in Texas. If he does
not do so very soon, I shall try to have him see a doctor down here in Texas. I have felt
fine, ever since we passed last Thursday’s storm.

Papa is writing some letters to the Colonel I think.

I wish I had Ozma’s glass and could see you all this minute, but that might not be so
satisfactory either, for I would want to be with you all and then I couldn’t be so near Ethel,
so we’ll take each adventure as it comes to us.

Give Joe and Charley each a good hug and kiss from Mama and a great deal of
love for all the rest from Billy to Ed.

Tell Jack I am glad to think how much he can help you with all the housework. I
suppose he has nearly finished his Washington book by this time.

Tell Ed to take good care of the Nash, and do drive with great care while the
roads are so dangerous.

Love and kisses for my dear faithful girlie. I shall try and plan a good vacation for
you when I get home again.

Mama

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 20, 2014 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
