RSS

Hurrah for Ruthy Junior

05 Jan
Ruthy Junior

Ruthy Junior

New York, NY
July 11, 1921

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth (Barrell) Gray, % R W Barrell, 4164 Botanical Ave, St Louis, MO

My Dearest Ruthy:

I have been writing you a little note at this time mornings, since you deserted me,
but as I mailed a letter written last evening containing most of the worth while news to the
end of yesterday, there is not much to record this morning but having gotten the habit, I am
going to go through with it.

The night was comfortable, am sleeping fine, especially when the clock struck 6:45
and I knew I had to jump and hustle for my train. Joe did not wake much earlier and
Katherine got up about the same time I did so Joe had a 7:15 bottle.

Breakfast, prepared by sleepy but efficient Ethel, put away. Billy tumbled down
stairs at 7:45 and took me to the station. I stopped at the Post Office and P M Baldwin
handed me your letter written the evening of your arrival. Was glad to have this little note
to start the day with and will be still gladder when Joe and I on Saturday next point the
nose of the old Lincoln toward the station where you will arrive.

“This is Ruthy, jrs 17th birthday. Hurrah for Ruthy. May she live long — happily and
prosper.”

I didn’t hear anything suggested, but I presume there will be some sort of a birthday
party this evening, and maybe cake and ice cream. 

No doubt Charlie will be glad to get back to his folks, the comfortable woods, and
flowers. I can imagine any lonesome ladies taking a fancy to him. He is good company and
improves on acquaintance.

Carl conducted a fishing party to the End of Long Island last Friday. There were 4
auto loads and all the paraphernalia for a month’s vacation to occupy 2 days. Mr Shea
took his car — coats, chiropractic gear. A Mr Shipman, friend of Carl his, and Carl had his
new Hudson, which had to have a leaky radiator repaired before they started. The party
consisted of several of the men from the shop (favorites) and as a consequence neither Mr
Shea, or Carl have turned up at this writing (10:45). This is no longer an envelope industry.
It is a happy-go-lucky-free-for-all-have-a-good-time JAZZ.

There has been nothing of a very definite nature develop in connection with my
affairs. Some interviews with my lawyer and the West and Lukes. This will all keep until
you return. All I have convinced is that something must happen to put this outfit on a
business basis, or I get out. I don’t care much which.

Well, sweetest and best little wifey. All I know is that I need you with me. Don’t hurry
back, tho if you can get any needed rest, I will get along. Things at home are fine. Joe is
very well. So get the most you can of recreation and change out of your trip.
Good bye for now and much love to you and Charlie

Your
Will

This isn’t very classy stationery for a man in the business. They are handy notes,
tho I ask to put in your bag or throw away. Won’t take up much room in the waste basket.

W

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 5, 2014 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
