RSS

I Shall Choose You Fresh Every Day Like a Flower

31 Dec
Will gave up his position as Mayor of New Providence when The Grays moved into this nearby Summit home in 1920.

Will gave up his position as Mayor of New Providence when The Grays moved into this nearby Summit home in 1920.

Ocala, FL
March 2, 1920

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth (Barrell) Gray, New Providence, NJ

My dearest Ruth:

This morning I received your letter of 27th ultimo and this afternoon, three redirects
from Crystal River. They were dated Feb 23rd, (must have gone astray), Feb 25 & 26, the
latter having a half sheet written on the morning of the 27th. Irrespective of the proper
sequence, they were all very acceptable and gave me quite a feast of sweet communion
with you. I have been going over all your letters and you make no mention of one I wrote
you on Washington’s birthday, or was that the first letter I wrote from Crystal River?
However, it makes no difference, anyway. I have your letters all open before me, running
from Feb 15th to Feb 27th, not a day missing.

This was another cool day here. We went out to play golf this morning and found ice
¼ inch thick in the boxes at the tees, something most unusual for Florida in March. The
day was beautifully clear and warmed up so that the sport was most invigorating. After
lunch we returned to the game and didn’t stop until 5:45 P M. A month of this would make
a new man of me.

I saw and picked a couple of dandelions for Charlie, there were other wild flowers,
the names of which I do not know. One has a very sweet smelling little pink flower which I
am enclosing. Also, a nasturtium, and a feather I picked up on the course. In our play we
came upon a flock of quail and there were many birds of different kinds, and squirrels
skipping from tree-to-tree. The big oaks on the link are beautiful, draped with moss as they
are. 

Your weather reports are not very inspiring and I hate to turn north while the
miserable road condition continues. It is altogether likely tho that I shall face the music
anyway, and leave Jacksonville Friday and get to New York Sunday morning. Kill the
fatted calf and prepare for the prodigal’s return.

I am going to close this letter with a fitting tribute to the best of all girlies, my Ruthy
Barrell.

“And I shall choose you fresh every day like a flower, because I shall want you and
you only, out of all the women in the world.”

Always your
Will

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 31, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “I Shall Choose You Fresh Every Day Like a Flower

  1. gpcox

    December 31, 2013 at 9:40 am

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
