RSS

I Wish I Had You Here

27 Dec

Crystal River, FL
Feb 25, 1920

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth (Barrell) Gray, New Providence, NJ

My dearest Ruthy:

Will write you a short note tonight as I must get to bed early and get the benefit of
the outing. At Ocala I could sit in my room and write until midnight, as the rising hour was a
matter of convenience. Here you have to be at breakfast at 7:30 or lose it.

Today was chilly and there was a cool breeze coming in from the Gulf and in
consequence there was no fishing worth talking about. It is quite a gamble coming to a
fishing place like this for a week only. It might be an off week when for some reason or
other the beggars are not biting and this seems to be what we have struck. They tell
wonderful stories here of great fishing but I have seen no evidence of it. 

The enclosed 6 pictures will tell you a little of the story of the trip. They are all fairly
good because the light was good.

I did not get a letter from you tonight. It may have miscarried or you may not have
had any opportunity to write on the 22nd. Now, I come to think of it, your Sunday letter,
mailed Monday, would not get here until Thursday.

The strong sun and breeze today burned my hands and neck, so if you saw me this
minute, you would say I had been to the seashore.

I wish I had you here to love and talk to and fish and play with. I wonder how long
we will have to wait for such an opportunity.

My best love to all and many kisses for the little ones particularly — and all you want
yourself.

Your
Will

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 27, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
