RSS

No, I Haven’t Found Our Bungalow Yet

23 Dec

Ocala, FL
Feb 20, 1920

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth (Barrell) Gray

My dearest Ruthy:

Only a week since I said good bye to you and it seems most a month. Things are so
different down here that it makes it seem far away.

This has been a beautiful day. A perfect blue sky and temperature this afternoon of
76 degrees.

Staid in town this morning, had an early lunch and had a 70 mile auto ride from
noon until 7 P M, winding up at Mr Condon’s home where we had a very fine Southern
dinner.

Bernie Condon is the Overland agent, and thought he had a prospect for a 2nd
hand car at “Fruitland Park,” a village about 35 miles south of here. So he decided to look
this prospect up and in order to make delivery, in case he sold the car, I and Massey
trailed along in a new Overland (I driving), so Mr Condon would have means of returning.

With the fine weather and all we had a most delightful ride. Imagine stopping at an orange
and grapefruit grove, picking and eating the ripe luscious fruit. I picked and ate a large
grape fruit and it certainly tasted good. 

Condon sold the car and we returned by way of Lake Weir, a large and beautiful
body of water surrounded by large farms and orange groves.

Returning to Ocala, at 7:15 P M, we partook of Mrs Condon’s hospitality and I had a
good appetite and enjoyed the meal rather better than any other since I have been away.
Tomorrow will be the last here and on Sunday we go to the Inn Crystal River and try
our luck at fishing.

I hope you all continue well and that your severe weather has moderated. If not,
pack up and come and join me. No, I haven’t found our bungalow yet. Haven’t looked real
hard, but seriously this country appeals to me from a climatic stand point and I would like
to arrange to spend 3 or 4 months here every winter. The farming is pioneering and
requires youth and ambition. Trading or running a garage and having an auto agency
would be more in my line. We’ll try and fix up something before we freeze to death in the
North.

I haven’t gotten a letter from any of the girls. To do so would be a real novelty.
Am tired and sleepy and thoughts don’t seem to run very smoothly, so I will close.
Wishing for all the best of health and spirits and sending you love and kisses, as always,

Your
Will

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 23, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “No, I Haven’t Found Our Bungalow Yet

  1. gpcox

    December 23, 2013 at 2:50 pm

    I’ve enjoyed your site throughout the past year and want to wish you and yours the best of this magical season.

     
    • Jenny

      December 23, 2013 at 3:53 pm

      The same to you! Thank you 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
