RSS

Like the Hollow Tree People

21 Dec

Ocala, FL
Feb 18, 1920

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth (Barrell) Gray, New Providence, NJ

My dearest Ruthy:

This was an off day, so I haven’t much to tell you. I could write you as nice an old
fashioned love letter as I ever wrote, but I’m not going to do it, not tonight, because it is
late. I’ve been to the movies, my first evening out and it is after eleven o’clock.

We had an auto hunting trip planned for today but it rained heavily and it had to be
put off. Just sat around and like the hollow tree people, smoked, listened to and told
stories, and attended a murder trial at the court house. After supper, which I couldn’t chew
in sheer desperation, went to a movie show and saw “Lost Money,” and one episode in
“The Great Gamble” which I witnessed some months ago in Summit. As I passed into the
hotel at 11 o’clock the thermometer registered 52 degrees and the rain had stopped. 

Am sending some pictures which show considerable contrast in scenery, New
Jersey and Florida.

This being my 6th day away and no letters yet, I begin to realize that I am far from
home. I imagine I will get your Sunday letter tomorrow morning.

As for the love letter — you may recall all the nice things I ever said to you, and then
think of all the sweet things I might have said, and those are my sentiments tonight.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 21, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
