RSS

Bull Frog Boy

04 Dec

1916 family

Worcester, MA
Feb 29, 1916

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth (Barrell) Gray, 570 East 23 rd St, Brooklyn, NY

Dearest Ruthy:

Just a little note full of love and kisses before I go to bed. It is now Eleven o’clock
and have just written a long letter to G. P. G. Co [General Paper Goods Company] to
straighten out some troubles they wrote to me about, here.

Your sweet letter awaited me and I will read it again before shutting my eyes to
bring you close to me for the night.

Have changed my plans and will see you late tomorrow night. There are too many
matters demanding attention in New York to stay longer.

Love and many kisses for all, especially your own dear self.

From your
Will

Newport, RI
Feb 29, 1916

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth (Barrell) Gray, 570 East 23 rd St, Brooklyn, NY

My dearest Ruthy:

You will see from this that I am on my way. Got over to Hoboken, found my “friend in
need,” mailed my letters and boarded the steamer at 4:50.

Had supper at 6:45 of oyster stew, marmalade, bread, butter and tea. Marmalade
from the “Montclair Farm Kitchens” and from finishing this modest meal, have been
chatting with a Mr Schneider, an old shoe maker now in the gov’t employ inspecting shoes
being made for the Army. He told me he had a son 16 years old, 6 feet 2 inches tall,
weighing 290 pounds. this puts Billy in the “order of shrimp” at least so far as width is
concerned. Mr Schneider’s son wears trousers with 50 inch waist. 

It is nearly 10 o’clock and I am very sleepy so want to “hit the pillows” shortly, so will
not attempt a long letter.

Am lonesome away from you and home and shall be glad to hear from you at
Worcester.

Will now say goodnight with many kisses and my best love for the dearest girl in the
world and the best wife.

Kiss all the kiddies for me with a special portion for my “bull frog boy.”

As ever your
Will

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 4, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
