RSS

Tell Billy I Am Sending Him a Live Alligator by Express

29 Nov

1913 Sled

New Orleans, LA
Oct 22, 1913

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth (Barrell) Gray, 287 Montclair Ave, Newark, NJ

My dearest Ruthy:

The day is over; it is after eleven and I have had another busy day. A little work in
the morning and eating and sight seeing the rest of the day. But I am weary of it. Would
rather be at your side in Forest Hill than any where else in the world, and I wish the trip
could be cut short so that I could reach you more quickly.

Your Sunday letter arrived this afternoon. Evidently having missed the 11:30
Sunday night collection. I am sorry you are so weary and lonesome for me. Dearest, if the
work is getting to much for you, can’t you get someone in to help? by calling up some of
the employment agencies.

We leave here Friday evening, so I will get letters from you mailed as late as
Tuesday night. Saturday and Sunday will be spent in Galveston, and then for home, and
wifey, joining you this day week.

Dearest, Love, you are so much to me and will be more and more as the years go
on. When I get back, will try to be a better more considerate husband than ever, and seek
to show my sweetheart how much I really think of her.

Tell Billy I am sending him a live alligator by express. The forwarding co will look
after it enroute and I suppose there will be full directions for the care of it in the package. 

I will not try to write more now, Dearie, but will endeavor to write you a nice letter
tomorrow. Think of me every night as holding you in fond embrace, stroking your dear
face, as I have so often done until sleep carries you off into slumberland, all worries and
cares being set aside until another day dawns.

Kiss little Edward for me as well as all the others and with much love for my own
dear sweetheart, I am

Forever
Your
Will

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 29, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Tell Billy I Am Sending Him a Live Alligator by Express

  1. Genealogy Lady

    November 29, 2013 at 12:25 pm

    Oh my goodness, was he serious about the alligator? 🙂

     
  2. sally92013

    November 30, 2013 at 2:59 am

    Reblogged this on More Aah than F*** and commented:
    A live alligator? Now that is a present for a boy, no Health and safety in 1913!

     

Leave a Reply

 
