RSS

A New Era In Our Lives

25 Nov

New York, N. Y.
Aug 28, 1913

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth (Barrell) Gray, % Mary H Reynolds, Petersburg, Rensselaer, NY

My dearest Ruthy:

Last night and to-night Mr Hill of Crocker – McElwain Co is in town and along with
Mr Gatti there has been no opportunity to write. I have thought of you a great deal and
have had your letters every morning and have been very close to my Dearie some part of
every day.

I am writing in Arthur Hill’s room in the Belmont and have only to step across the
street to the New York Central to insure my letter reaching you tomorrow morning.

Your letter telling of Jack’s condition has been on my mind all day and along with
other worries, I am in poor shape mentally tonight. Your postscript sort of reassured me
and in your expert care I am sure little Jack will come around all right. I will be impatient
until I am at your side once wore which I am sorry to say will not be until Saturday morning.

Will bring us another box of Rexalto Castor Oil as you request.

Will be glad to get your letter tomorrow morning and hope for favorable report about
Jack. 

I can’t write you a very long letter much as I should like to. It is about ten o’clock and

I must be in bed by eleven.

I am trying to feel that Jack is made of pretty tough stuff. Since he has been in the
country he has shown himself to be pretty sturdy by his ability to walk and I cannot bring
myself to believe that under your good care, he will not soon be himself once more.

Dearest Ruthy, our return to our dear old house in Newark is going to mark a new
era in our lives. I am going to work shoulder to shoulder with you to overcome and conquer
the obstacles that have arisen. Of course, my work has so changed that I cannot exactly
walk the “straight and narrow” path, but I will do the very best I can.

Twenty four hours will see me well on my way to you again, and there shall be no
more partings of this kind.

Good night dear Heart — sweetest of all girlies. May God watch over you and your little flock and
deliver you all back to Newark safe and sound.

Much love and kisses from

Your
Will

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 25, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
