RSS

Business Is Picking Up

24 Nov

New York, N. Y.
Aug 26, 1913

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth (Barrell) Gray, % Mary H Reynolds, Petersburg, Rensselaer, NY

My dearest Ruthy:

Was glad to get your cheerful letter this morning and feel reassured about Jack.
The cool air and outdoors will probably put you all on your feet before returning to Newark
next week.

The way things look now I doubt if I shall be able to see you again before the usual
time next Saturday. Business is picking up and there is much to do.

After lunch today with Carl, we ran down to Fort Hamilton. Stopped to see Bob for a
moment. He asked about you and the family and sends his love to all. I found them at
lunch. Mrs G wrestling with about half a boiled or fried chicken and had a head of lettuce
on a side dish. Bob and Martha were seated on the same chair eating something crulles
without holes. They were about the size of biscuit and were evidently cooked in lard.

Martha was sprinkling powder on them from a huge silver shaker. As I recall they were
both eating from the same plate, and every once is a while Martha would chuck Bob under
the chin or some other endearing caress. Bob is thin and the skin of his face in not clear;
looks something like Martha’s. The effect I guess of the bum food. I stayed only a few
moments and then beat it. 

There is nothing especially new. Was at factory until 6:30. Trollies all the way here
arriving at 8. Have had dinner and after mailing this am going to bed.

My mind isn’t working very well tonight so I will close.

Ruthy, Dearest, I want to hug you close and give you a lot of nice kisses. Will try to
feel you near me before I go to sleep.

Much love to all from

your
Will

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 24, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
