RSS

Am Worried About Ed

16 Nov
Will's brother Ed and family.

Will’s brother Ed and family.

NY, NY
Aug 4, 1913

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth (Barrell) Gray, % Mary H Reynolds, Petersburg, Rensselaer Co, NY

My dearest Ruthy:

It is now 6:30 P.M. and I have just reached here after a busy day. The trip back was
about as usual, except that we went to Albany, arriving there at 7:30. Had a good dinner at
Keeler’s Hotel and took the boat from there. It didn’t leave Albany until 10 o’clock.

Went to court this morning at 9. Our influence didn’t do any good as the judge found
Carl guilty and fined him $25.00. It’s a kind of graft that’s hard to beat.

Arriving at the factory, Mr Magill announced the coming of a son, “BRUCE LINDO
MAGILL” — on Sunday (or Monday?). Mr M said they had a terrible time commencing 2 A.
M. Sunday morning until about 2 P. M. when the baby was finally born. The doctors didn’t
think they could save the baby, but managed to do so. The baby weighed over 9 pounds.
Mr Magill told me that some one in Newark called me up about 9 o’clock, he could
not tell me who and said, “My brother Ed was laid up with nervous indigestion, and would
be confined to the house for several days.”

I called Ed’s home up and he answered the phone himself. He said he had called
me up but found it difficult to make Mr M understand.

Ed says the dr tells him it is a nervous breakdown coming from worry and he’ll have
to look out or something serious might develop. Am going out to see him tonight and will
tell you more in my next letter. 

Didn’t get the cresolene as I didn’t have enough money and Gatti was in same fix. In
fact I had to lend him $200 of my three to buy a ticket this morning, he having spent nearly
all he had for dinner in Albany. Will see what I can do tomorrow about sending vapo cres
by express.

Am worried about Ed. I know his financial condition is worse than my own and now
his health has gone back on him. Its going to be pretty tough.

Well greatest of all Sweethearts, I must stop and be on my lonely way. Much love,
many many kisses for you and all the babies and hope that your troubles are no worse
than when I left you.

As ever your
Will

P.S. Tell Mrs Reynolds that Mr Ewing cannot tell just what time he & wife will come
to P, but will let me know by Friday & I will report to her.

Will

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 16, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
