RSS

It Didn’t Seem To Me that We Were Going 25 Miles Per Hour

15 Nov

1914 car

New York, N. Y.
July 31, 1913

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth (Barrell) Gray, % Mary H Reynolds, Petersburg, Rensselear Co, NY

My Dearest Ruthy:

Your letter of the 29th and 30th were received this morning and by me at 3 P. M., as
I stayed at Bensonhurst last night and spent the morning at the factory.

I wrote you a hurried note yesterday and then joined the Printer’s outreach at
Sheepshead Bay. About 100 strong had a shore dinner at Tappan’s, then a baseball, then
a good bath at Coney Island, then some of Steeple Chase Park, and “hot dogs” at
Tellmans. Carl came down about 9 in his machine and I went home with him. Had a dip in
N. Y. Bay before breakfast and have managed to survive the heat of the last two days
which have been fierce.

Am glad your little patients are mending and that your outing in the country
continues to be pleasant. During the sultry days you are sure to find relief in the shaded
gorge near the Cool Creek.

I haven’t a great deal to tell you and I must run out on a few errands before closing
time. Will sleep in Forest Hill tonight if the mosquitoes let me and tomorrow night will see
me head for Petersburg and home once more. 

One of Mr Young’s assistants from Philadelphia called me up in Brooklyn this noon
and I invited him to take lunch with me and pay a visit to our shop. I arranged to meet him
at Atlantic Avenue. Carl furnished the conveyance as usual, and as we neared the upper
end of Fourth Avenue a motor policeman came alongside and beckoned us to stop. He
said we were exceeding the speed limit and summoned Carl to court at 9 A. M. tomorrow
morning to answer. The usual penalty is $25.00 fine and I must see what can be done
towards securing a suspension of sentence. It didn’t seem to me that we were going 25
miles per hour. Were running at a very moderate speed and chatting without paying much
attention to how we were going. I will use the friends I have to secure a suspended
sentence.

Your letters are sweet with the fragrance of pure unselfish love and I am always
refreshed in spirit after reading them. Kiss all the kiddies for me and accept much love and
many kisses for yourself.

Your
Will

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 15, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
