RSS

If I Had A Flying Machine

11 Nov

NY, NY
July 22, 1913

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth (Barrell) Gray, % Mary H Reynolds, Petersburg, Rensselaer Co, NY

My dearest Ruthy:

I went out last evening at 6:30. Mr Gatti & Mr Jacobson suggested dinner here, and having
“no home” I trailed along. Well the night sped quickly and when half gone didn’t have gumption to
go to Newark. So we all three stayed put in this club.

Room 521 – 258 Broadway 6:00 P.M.

I received your letter this morning reporting events up to yesterday noon. These letters of
yours coming the morning after mailing keep me in pretty close touch with you and make the day
easier.

The day has been a busy one chasing around downtown and no opportunity to go to the
factory. Will have supper here then go to Newark and try and get a good nights rest.

I saw Mr Bruning this morning. He has been in trouble lately. Has a son 28 by his first wife
who was jilted by his girl and he attempted suicide by poisoning. His attempt was unsuccessful.
The last run of Blue Print seems to be OK, but Mr B seems reluctant to place orders without still
further trial.

That play ground among the pines is a delightful cool place and I like to picture you
spending much of your time there. Billy is evidently going to become a whist player. Anything that
will teach him concentration will be very helpful.

Mr Gatti and I, when among friends spend a good deal of time talking about the farm, and
the star boarders, so you will have to keep me informed of the amusing incidents so we will have
something fresh to discuss.

Mr G is going to Montreal tonight meeting John Sullivan there. This is a trip I wanted to
make, but I don’t see any way of making it just now.

You may tell Miss C that I mailed her letter in the New York Post Office before 8:00 A.M.
Monday morning. Could have mailed it in Troy Sunday night but figured it would get there quicker
form N. Y.

I hope Florence cough is lessening and that Jack and Edward will not catch it. The cool
pure air should do much to check and prevent the contagion.

It has been a sticky day here and I am still wearing the same outfit in which I left you on
Sunday. (Except collar which I changed here this morning.) Am anxious to get home and get the
duds off. My pen also has gone dry.

My dearest sweetheart, I cannot tell you how much I miss you. If I had a flying machine
capable of 75 miles an hour and knew how to run it, would drop in on you before 9 P.M. and
leaving about 6 A. M., would be back to business at 9. Wouldn’t that be fine?

Will be thinking of you and all the dear ones as I retire in the old room having so many
sweet memories. Memories of love, devotion, pain and happiness. My hand will be in yours as I go
to sleep just as truly as if your form occupied the other bed. I know your spirit will be there and my
rest will be sweet.

Good night sweetest and best of all girlies. Kiss all the children for me and tell Florence I
will bring her a little dolly next time I come up.

Much love, many hugs and kisses
from your

Will

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 11, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
