RSS

This Separation Is Very Hard Indeed

07 Nov
Will's brother Dave, Dave's wife, and some of Will's children.

Will’s brother Dave, Dave’s wife, and some of Will’s children.

NY, NY
July 14, 1913

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth (Barrell) Gray, % Mary H Reynolds, Petersburg, Rensselaer Co, NY

My dearest Ruthy:

It is after 10 P.M. and I am tired and sleepy so will not try to write a long letter as I
should like. I am missing you more tonight than I can tell. This separation is very hard
indeed. Still I don’t want to make you feel badly about it, so I mustn’t complain.

Train was late at Hoosie Falls and the boat didn’t arrive at Troy until 9:45, a wait of
over 2 ½ hours with nothing to eat. Was never more tired in my life. As soon as we got
aboard we had a meal which was over at 11, and this revived me somewhat. Arrived at
New York at 8 and Mr Gatti took mother to Hoboken which was on his way to business.

Mr Sykes bought a second-hand runabout which I ran out for him, getting to Forest
Hill at 7:15. Had supper with him, gave him a lesson in driving and put the machine up for
him in Eckert’s garage for which he pays $5.00 per month. 

Dave dropped in to see me today at Bush Terminal and invited me to come and
spend the night with them any time. I accepted his invitation to take supper with him
tonight but was unable to keep the appointment on account of lateness of getting out with
Sykes car.

I hope you got back safely last evening, and that Florence’s cold is breaking up.

Well Sweetheart, I am going to mail this now, make my bed and hustle into it. My
last thought will be that you are at my side, my hand clasped in yours, and such other
thoughts of you and all the sweet children as will be conducive to sound and restful sleep.
Good night best of all wives, mothers and sweethearts.

Much love and many kisses for yourself and all the kiddies, from

your
Will

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 7, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
