RSS

If I Had Your Disposition and Grit

01 Nov
Gray children in 1913

Gray children in 1913

Springfield, MA
June 3, 1913

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth (Barrell) Gray

My dearest Ruthy:

Arriving here at noon I called for mail and found your letter mailed yesterday. I read
it with all the interest I have ever had in letters from my sweetheart, and was glad indeed to
learn that all was well at home.

The letter paper you resurrected needs no apology for quality, if it does bring back
memories of more prosperous days. But I shall not say more happy. With all our load of
responsibilities, I feel we are going to come out on top, with the help of such a truly
capable, loving and courageous wife.

You probably received my letter from Albany today. I told you something of the
Petersburg proposition without reaching any conclusions. It got very late before I finished
and I was very sleepy, but shall fill in the chinks when I get back.

I feel that if we don’t go to Petersburg we shall go somewhere else as I have been
able to make several inquiries from which we may get results.

From your description, father Slosser must have been hit by something. A
locomotive or auto and proved the weaker in contact. I’ve heard about his club foot before
from Chester. He used to joke with Dave about it.

Now that we’ve fixed up the garage, and Hamilton appreciates it, I think we’ll have
to raise the rent. 

I miss Jack and his incessant talk, and Florence with her quaint ways, very much. I
like those loose pantaloons and they must be very comfortable. Congratulate Billy for me.
He is doing fine. Tell him I shall take him to New York for his birthday and besides getting
a watch, go up on the Woolworth tower if the day is fine.

Jack and Florence

Jack and Florence

This has been a sort of day off for me. Arrived shortly after noon, and after reading
your letter went to lunch. I saw Mr Moses come in and found he had 2 guests for dinner.
He apologized for not being able to dine with me, but very kindly placed his auto & driver
at my disposal until 3:30. After lunch I went to the Powers Paper Co plant with Phil Powers
whom I met by chance at the hotel and then to Holyoke, visiting the Crocker McElwain mill,
landing back at the Worthy at 3:40. I found Mr Moses and his guests waiting and I went
with them to the mill at Mitteneague and then he had his man drove us up to Woronoco to
inspect their new half million dollar outfit nearing completion. Woronoco is 15 miles from
Springfield, in the Berkshires, enroute to Pittsfield. We landed back at Springfield at 6
o’clock and I have been writing you ever since and as it is getting past supper time and I
have related the days incidents, I suppose I’d better get through. Mr Moses said his wife is
ill or he would have taken me up on the mountain. I understand he has spent $100,000 up
there so far. He may be back later on if he finds his wife’s condition will permit it.

There is a chance that Mr Moses may be able to tell me of a place near here where
we can get board. I spoke to him about it and he promises to let me know.

Shall go to Worcester and Boston tomorrow and shall hope to hear from you again
at the Essex.

Since leaving off writing above I went to eat and found Mr L. M. Moses, a
nephew of H. A., looking for me with the message that his uncle would be detained at
home and his car and driver were at my service for the evening if I’d like to take a ride. The
young man suggested a trip through the park and down the river about 15 miles to a resort
and the night being fine I was agreeable. It is now 9:45 and we have just returned and I am
alone in the hotel once more. Mr Moses is certainly very nice to me and I haven’t given his
mill one cent’s worth of business since I started the G. P. G. Co. [General Paper Goods
Company]

After writing you last night and in the act of mailing my letters, I became aroused
and buying a New York evening paper sat up until 1 A. M. reading and got up at 6:30 so I
want to turn in early tonight.

Well, Dearie, it seems harder than ever to be away from you nights. I have come to
realize more than ever, lately, what a great big place you fill in my life and I simply can’t
get along away from you for any length of time. I appreciate very much tho I don’t always
show it your great generous love for me, and the game way that you work against many
odds with unceasing cheerfulness and ambition. If I had your disposition and grit I feel that
my business career would have attained better success by now, but no doubt in my
weakness, living with you has helped a great deal.

I cannot use words that will fully express all the love I feel for you, but if I had you
close to me tonight, I think I could express it in a way you would understand.

Kiss all the youngsters for me often while I am away and Edward many, many times.
How I miss the little fellow’s cheery pa-pa, pa-pa!!

My parting thoughts were of you last night and will be again tonight, and just as
sleep descends, I can really feel you very very close.

Good night sweet heart of all these years, good night.

Your
Will

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 1, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
