RSS

A Most Beautiful Place

25 Oct

Washington, D. C.
May 20, 1910

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth (Barrell) Gray

My dearest Ruthy:

I received your letter mailed last night at the usual time this morning. Am glad to learn of your
happiness and the good health of the little flock. Thanks for kiss and Florence smile, the sweetest,
purest, little Blossom of Love ever born. How I would like to look at her this minute and hug her close to
me, or take both of you in sweet embrace as I sometimes do when you are holding her.

The unpleasantness with Mrs E. W. G is characteristic of that individual. The best thing to do, I
believe, would be to drop entirely the idea of using any of that second hand junk. We do not want to
desecrate our home with any such stuff. I would not be happy after the way the lady has talked and
the fact that sick children and dirty maids have been using the furniture to have it in your home. I say
your home in the sense that you spend most of your time there and the association of the place must all
be in the line of our pure love, with no discordant feature. What things we have, such as they are, are our
own uncontaminated by any such filth that will always possess the junk in question, wherever it is.

Dearie, I think you will agree with me that it will be best not to admit any of the stuff to our house.
Why wouldn’t this be a good suggestion — move Aunt Jane and the walnut furniture into the East room,
(which furniture could be put in good condition when Aunt Jane gets through with it).

Then buy for the spare room a nice white enamel single bed with good mattress, a nice little
dresser and wash stand of fair grade which will give us a very decent guest room. Mother Barrell could
occupy this as long as she wants to remain and then Billy could move into it in the fall. This may not
appeal to you, but at any rate I would buy new things and forbid the other from entering the house under
any consideration. Your judgment on these matters is always most sensible and any way you decide will
please me, for my supremest pleasure is in satisfying you: “Our credit is good at Halmes.” 

Well the convention broke up tonight and all are scattering to the four winds. I very much wanted
to go home tonight, but I’ve spent some money and done no business, and really want to send
something home to compensate for the time off. So, I will remain over here tonight and tomorrow night
at 10:10 will go to Chattanooga where I will arrive Saturday afternoon 5 P.M., a rather long trip. You can
write me Friday evening at Hotel Patton, Chattanooga and tomorrow I will write you telling of my further
movements and where you can reach me by letter.

Am enclosing a few postals of Mount Vernon which I visited with the crowd today. It is a 3 hours
ride on the boat for the round trip. I saw all the things in the postals and more too. It is truely a most
beautiful place and shows all through the refined and simple taste of its original lord and master, George
Washington. Dearie, it is another place you may put down on your prospective “honeymoon” journey
with your lover who is writing these lines. Hand in hand, hearts united by many years of the closest
relation, we will travel here, there, and yonder, seeing new and pleasing sights will all the interest of
children, and all the romance that surrounds our little trip to western New York eleven years ago. Good
night sweetheart, kiss all the babies from 6 month old Florence to 10 year old Billy for me, giving sunny
Florence a snugly kiss in the soft spot under her little ear and feel me giving you a number in the same
dear place.

Ever
your
Will

P.S. The New York times is publishing on the Editorial page letters from their correspondents on
the badness of boys and how to bring them up. These make interesting reading and you will be amused
to read the first one appearing in today’s paper. Let me know if you don’t think it funny.

Will

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 25, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
