RSS

Multiply It Many Times

21 Oct

Springfield, MA
April 12, 1910

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth (Barrell) Gray

My own dearest Ruthy:

Have just arrived here and this is the first opportunity I’ve had to write you a line.
Stopped at Cornwall, went through the Moodna Mill with Mr Sterus, then went to
Saugerties with Gatti where we stopped until this morning at 10:50, thence to Albany
arriving there at 1:00 and then off to Springfield where we have just arrived at 9:30 P.M.

I am somewhat tired but feeling quite well. Getting away from New York being a big
relief where the strain has been tense for some weeks past. The air today was just fine and
I enjoyed the morning in Saugerties very much. You know the hour I retired on Monday
morning. Well, I made just about the same time last night, and getting up at 6:15 gave me
about 4 ½ hours sleep last night. Mr G has quite a few paper maker friends in Saugerties
and he held a sort of informal reception from 8 P.M. to 1:30 A.M at the chief sporting place
of the town. I put in my time bowling, the place having alley’s in connection with it. I bowled
steadily from 8 to 12. I don’t know how many games, making one 200 score, the highest
made by anyone there and there were a bunch. I had a bilious attack on the train Monday
morning and I guess the bowling was a good thing for me. Altho I have quite some sleep
yet to make up. I expect to get a good rest tonight and will not make this letter try to convey
in words all my love for the Dearest and best girl in the world, but will ask her to take the
sum of all the nice things I have ever said and written, and multiply it many times, and the
result would nowhere near express the feeling & regard I have for my Ruthy. 

The trip has been quite interesting to me so far and Gatti wants me to go with him to
Norwich, CT, Bangor, ME, & Boston MA and in view of my need of change, there is strong
likelihood I shall do it, especially as I may make some acquaintances that will result in
business for B & J. This will bring me home about Saturday evening if this program is
carried out. Write me % Hotel Essex, Boston the day you receive this and enclose a
couple of the children’s pictures if you have received them. If I change my plans will
advise you and write you more definitely in another mail. Kiss all the babies and with much
love. I am always

Your
Will

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 21, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
