RSS

You Dearest Are the Shining Star

12 Oct

Detroit, MI
July 14, 1909

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth (Barrell) Gray

My own dearest Ruthy:

It is now 10:45 P.M. and I have shaken the bunch long enough to have a few words
with my wifey before leaving for my train, for I go to Chicago at 12:34 A.M. arriving early
to-morrow morning.

The events of the day have not been startling. Had a good nights sleep after writing
you, and felt fine this morning after a cold bath. Spent most of the day at the sessions of
the convention listening to reports of the secretaries. There are two or three hundred men
here from points all over the country, and some from Canada. Texas has a good
representation and I met and renewed my acquaintance with many of those I visited and
sold in Texas. It is in getting around to affairs of this kind that supply men make the
acquaintance of the leading buyers of their goods and their business is unquestionably
benefited.

An enterprising photographer took our picture after this mornings session and I
bought one so you will have a chance to see what a crowd of the country’s printers looks
like. The picture was taken in a little square in front of the hotel and turned out very well.
I am almost overflowing with “booze” tonight as I had to drink with my Texas friends
and others. Seltzer lemonade and poland water were my specialties so I guess no harm
was done.

Received your expected and most welcome love messages this morning and was
glad to know of your restful evening after the days hard work. It is sweet to think of you all
in the sweet simple house and how refreshing after observing so much of the world’s
emptiness that one always sees when away on trips like this. 

This fixed and most satisfying situation of my domestic life is a source of great
comfort to me when away and you Dearest are the shining star that makes the whole
picture so bright.

This is dear little Jackie’s birthday,(16 months) give him sixteen kisses for me and tell him I sent
them. He’ll understand.

As nearly as I can plan now I expect to be home either Saturday night or Sunday
morning. If obliged to make any different arrangement will let you know from Chicago.
No sweetest and dearest of all wives and sweethearts, and best and purest girlie in
all the world, good night.

I shall read your letter again just before retiring and put it in the pocket of my
pajamas jacket and be very very close to you, that closeness which affords our hearts love
satisfaction and which I know you like so well. Nothing more Ruthy, sweetheart, you know
me and know I love you more than anything in the world, and I want so much to take the
best care of you and help you every way that I can. How I do wish I could say these things
with my face close to yours at this hour. Good night Dearest my Ruthy. Kiss and hug all the
dear little blossoms of our love and with all I have, believe me, as ever

Your
Will

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “You Dearest Are the Shining Star

  1. Sheryl

    October 12, 2013 at 10:23 pm

    Will has such a wonderful way with words. I always read every word of his letters. In this letter I particularly liked how he decided to mention to Ruth that he’d partied with the Texans . . . but that seltzer lemonade and Poland water were his specialties so no harm was done.

     
    • Jenny

      October 13, 2013 at 9:04 am

      After reading his letters from Texas, I wish I knew what those guys he was was traveling thought of him. He talked a lot of compromising with them. They were obviously younger, and probably thought Will was boring. But, since we don;t have their letters, I suppose Will gets the last word on that 🙂

       
      • Sheryl

        October 15, 2013 at 9:22 am

        Even without knowing any more about the Texans, I know that I like Will better than them. 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
