RSS

I Have Almost Exhausted the Vocabulary of Pet Names

05 Oct

New Orleans, LA
April 8, 1909

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth (Barrell) Gray

My dearest Ruthy:

Left Dallas last evening at 6:25 via Houston & Texas Central. Had to get out of our
bunks at 6:30, getting breakfast at Houston in the interval. This isn’t a smooth roadbed as
you can see from my writing so I will not try under such difficulties to write you a long letter,
but want you to know of our late arrival in N. O. where I will mail this letter as soon as we
get there. The boys want to take boat home & I would like to myself as knocking around on
land as we have been doing is not very restful and it would require the boat trip to rest us
up.

Boats leave N. O. Saturday 10th and Wednesday 14th. To get the former would not
allow me time to do any business in N. O. so it looks as if we’ll take Wednesday boat
leaving 14th and arriving in N. Y. Monday 19th 7 A. M. As I write we are about 275 miles
from N. O., going through a flat uninteresting country about 30 feet above sea level. There
was a very heavy rain last night and the land is almost submerged. This is the grand rice
growing belt of Texas. It is cloudy this morning and a very good day to spend on the train. 

Will be glad when we get to N. O. as that will seem like a long step toward home.
Well, Sweetheart, I have almost exhausted the vocabulary of pet names and can
only repeat the old, old story. The story of my love for you, my great happiness in your
pure and unrestricted devotion to me. You are the dearest sweetest purest and best girlie
in all the world, and it is the greatest pleasure of my life to do what little I can do to
contribute to your happiness. Good bye for now.

Dearie, will write you possibly tonight from the St Charles. The train is just arriving
at Beaumont and you will note from my writing that it has stopped. This is the center of the
oil boom in this state also is quite a lumber town. Good bye, love, and with a good hug and
many sweet kisses, I am forever

Your husband and sweetheart
Will

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 5, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
