RSS

A Hundred Good Night Kisses

02 Sep

NY, NY
Feb 10, 1905

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth (Barrell) Gray

My own dearest, sweetest wife, Ruthy:

It is now just 12:45 A. M. by my watch and I sit in a very cosy room in this hotel in
pajamas after having attended one of the most magnificent dinners ever given by a
commercial organization, the details of which I shall relate to you at home, but my thoughts
now are not on the gaudy empty magnificence of the early evening, but upon the
wholesome precious little home at 908 Lake Street, Forest Hill, made wholesome and
precious by these virtues so richly possessed by the dear ones who spend most of their
time within its confines. My heart is full of love for you, Ruthy and the little ones, fresh,
strong, unceasing love and now as I close this letter and crawl into my couch my parting
thought is the prayer we often spoke when we were new lovers, but not stronger: 

“The Lord watch between me and Thee when we are absent one from another.”

A hundred good night kisses for your dear self and same for Ethel, Billy, and Ruth
Elizabeth.

Forever yours and yours only

Will

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 2, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
