RSS

I Had Always Regarded Him as a Refined Accommodating Fellow

04 Aug

New York, NY
Nov 16, 1898

From: William a Gray
To: Ruth Barrell

My Dearest Ruthy:

Just a few lines now dear, for I am tired and sleepy and must hurry to bed. Have
been on a “mad rush” since Monday morning and am just about sick of it.

Your nice letter was waiting for me upon my return from lunch and the reading of it
quite lifted me away from this busy turmoil to your side and for a few moments I was
helping to feed chickens, admire sun-sets and be very near you in your varied household
duties, including interior decoration of “Our” room.

Nothing new has happened to me since leaving you. I have not had time hardly to
wash my face. This manner of working has one very encouraging feature, tho the days fly
past, and grow into weeks in a delightfully speedy sort of a way and Saturday and another
day of rest will be with us ere we know it. Am so glad to get your letters Ruthy. They help
smooth what often seems a very rough way down here alone and pursuing such a tiresome
routine day in and day out. 

I was very much shocked this week when news came to the office that a Mr Titsel,
employed downstairs, who left the office last Friday suffering from gripe committed suicide
at his boarding place. He was a married man and leaves a wife and baby to carry thro life
with the weight of his sin. I had always regarded him as a refined accommodating fellow,
but strange to say we learn that he was a slave to rum and other equally bad practices. It
seems that at one time he held a very good position, but lost all thro drink. He came to our
employ a reformed man and seemed in every way to be leading a proper life and was — I
am now told, earnest in his desire to do so. He told our Mr Conover that if he ever went
back to the old life he would give up and end his life by his own hand. So it seems he did
take to drink again and his wife left him and went home to her folks in Altoona, Pa.

Dearest I must go to Brooklyn now and hurry to bed. Tomorrow will be Thursday,
then comes Friday, then Saturday — doesn’t seem long and we shall be together once
more.

Would not mind having a bunch of that celery to chew on even now, altho I put
away quite a fair meal to-night for one getting little or no muscular exercise.

I look back, Dear, and think what a delightfully restful holiday I spent with you over
Sunday and how the radiance of that day casts its glow all thro the week we are separated.

How nice it will be when every day will be. Altho not entirely like Sunday, will have some of
our Sunday attached to either end and more so.

Must say good-night now and if in your presence would give you some nice sweet
kisses such as we only have.

With best wishes for your health and happiness, I am

Your loving

Will

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 4, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
