RSS

Next Time I’ll Somewhat Know the Ropes

20 Jul

Norfolk, VA
Sep 7, 1898

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth (Barrell)

My dearest Ruthy:

We arrived at Old Point Comfort this morning at 10;30 o’clock and after a day’s
exploring in many places, arrived a short time ago, at the above hotel. We have had
supper and it is now about 7:30. I am seated in the parlor which is on the ground floor and
the door and windows being open, a delightful, cool breeze comes in. Time is too short to
commence to tell you what we saw and did now and I’ll reserve it until I get home to you
Friday. Have been very well since starting and as Walter puts it “have gotten my money’s
worth at every meal.” Will have much to tell you about the trip and how I expect to show
you the same ground at no very distant date. I’m glad for this reason, for having taken the
trip — because next time I’ll somewhat “know the ropes”. I hope your cough is entirely
disappeared and you are all well of the Hopatcong cold (shall I say).

Shall put this in the mail to night, but doubt if it will reach you much before I do
myself. I am now looking to Saturday to me a less odd but far more dear experience than
this. Ruthy, if the day is fine and we make an early start — I cannot write you more now of
the trip, but that will keep. 

I want to send you many kisses and much love, Dearest, and knowing your
willingness to do so, will accept some for myself in exchange.

With very best wishes for your good health, I am as ever

Your own
Will

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 20, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
