RSS

I Understand You Thoroughly

29 Jun

1899 EG01

22 Cliff St, NY
April 20, 1898

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth Barrell

My own Dearest Ruthy:

It is after eight o’clock and being weary of work, I lay it aside to have a few moments
with you. I do not think I will do any more today for I am tired and upon finishing this will go
to my abiding place and secure a good nights rest.

Dearest Ruthy, how my heart goes out to you at this time. How glad I would be to be
with you just now. It seems so long since Sunday and so long still until Saturday comes
again. But it will not do to give away to these lonesome thoughts so I’d best change the
subject.

Arrived here at 9:15 Monday morning, certainly with time enough left to do a long
days work that will be our program on every nice Monday morning hereafter, Ruth, if you
don’t object. Funny we didn’t think of it before.

Received your very dear letter yesterday, as you intended, after dinner. The
blossoms and violet were very sweet in themselves but the message they bore was many,
many times sweeter. Am very sorry to have tired you out Sunday evening on an errand that
was almost entirely my own. Aside from this, Ruthy, I look back to those short minutes I
spent with you as among the sweetest in my life. Ruthy, Dearest, I understand you
thoroughly. There isn’t a trait in your great noble character that I am unacquainted with. 

When the happy day comes upon which we consummate our fondest hopes, if there
will be any sacrifice, it will be on your part. But let us say there will be none. Instead, we
commence life upon a broad and more liberal plan. It would be the last thing in the world I
would do to ask you, Ruthy, on my count to relinquish any of the comforts you now enjoy. It
has always been my idea and always will that there is nothing quite good enough for you,
and yet, I am willing to ask you to be mine before I can furnish you these grand things I
have dreamed of.

We shall get married Ruth just as we have always done things together. Entering
into the relation with the brightest hopes and that strong love which has characterized our
lives thus far and which will overcome all obstacles, and reach only for the higher things of
this life.

I cannot write you more of this now but will love to talk with you of our dreams when
together once more.

I send you what is left of my pansy, refreshed with kisses for my love.

Good night Ruthy, dearest, and may God take care of you always.

Your

Will

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 29, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “I Understand You Thoroughly

  1. Genealogy Lady

    June 29, 2013 at 11:55 am

    How long from this point was it before they were married?

     
    • Jenny

      June 29, 2013 at 4:03 pm

      January!

       

Leave a Reply

 
