RSS

I Return Your Violet with Ten Kisses

24 Jun

New York, NY
April 5, 1898

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth Barrell

My Dearest Ruthy:

Before going to bed, I want to write you a few lines, at least. I am alone with you
now, being in my room on the seventh floor, with dress case across my knees for a desk.
Would love to write you a nice long letter, but must go to bed and get some much needed
rest. The cold I anticipated has not overtaken me yet and, as I feel tonight, I don’t think it
will.

Well, Dearest, I am waiting patiently for this week to slip by, so I can be with you
once more. What happy restful times I do have with you, and just to think that some time
every one of the seven days of the week, it will be my privilege to spend in this way with
you.

I had a chance today to have switched off from night work and secure $100.00 per
month as stenographer in the office of the Rock Island R R. However, I did not embrace it,
as I do not like to change, and again, looking to the future, I think I’m better off where I am.
The assistance I’ve has been waiting for will soon be at hand, and at the longest, this
month will finish up the night work.

Dearest Love, I hope you are very well tonight, and happy as I am, just in thinking
what a dear good girl you are to me. 

I won’t write you any more now, and will take this down stairs and mail it, then return
to bed.

In bidding you good-night I just closed my eyes and am carried back to Saturday
night last. With these thoughts sleep will overtake me tonight.

Good night, Dearest Ruthy and may our Heavenly Father watch between us when
absent from one another.

With much love

Will

This is miserable weather Ruthy, but better have it out now than at the end of the
week. Will come out Saturday next on the same train as previously, if all goes well can you
meet me Pet? Anything I can do for you will give me great pleasure, so don’t hesitate to
ask. This is poor weather to display Easter apparel, so please don’t sit up nights getting
things ready.

Your
Billy

Ruthy,
I return your violet with ten kisses.
Lovingly
Will

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 24, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
