RSS

There Will Be No Parting Then

15 Jun

Summit, N. J.
Feb 16, 1898

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth Barrell

My Dear Ruth:

It is now just about 8:40 and I have only finished supper and reading your letter received
this P. M. a second time, for I had to work a little later tonight than usual.

Your letter did not come as a surprise for I watched expectantly each mail delivery through
the morning, for I knew one was on its way.

Am very glad to know Ethel’s case is a slight one and hope the careful treatment will bring
her around speedily and thoroughly.

My Dearest Ruthy, I did not mean to leave you with any misgivings or doubts about
anything I said to you. Upon thinking of that “dreadful something” I had in mind Sunday evening, I
find I cannot carry it to what you’ll admit is a logical conclusion. I was only thinking how conducive
to impatience it is to think and picture those pretty things of our future — and now after all I cannot
forgo thinking those things even tho the time for their realization is not definitely fixed, impatience
or no.

No, my precious one, I’ve never had any doubts about your bringing me perfect happiness,
or of my ability to secure yours. This was settled in my mind years ago. 

There are times when, for some reason, I am angry with myself, a picture of all your noble
character comes to my mind and with it a sense of my unworthiness of your love but as you do not
want me to think bad things about myself, I am not going to do so any more.

Ruthy, you grow dearer to me every day and I feel honored and delighted with your love
and in return I give you all my heart possesses. I know Ruth you are perfectly willing to wait until
the time seems ripe for the culmination of our happiness, but let me assure you Dearest, with
God’s help, it won’t be years. My position in life was never so good as it is now and prospects
never fairer, so why complain?

So Ruth dear, still hand-in-hand we can continue to be the happy fun loving boy and girl
we have always been, getting the most of joy out of the present, and ready to welcome the day
that will bring about the — “there will be no parting then” times our hearts so desire.

Ruth, I want you to read between the lines of this letter and understand just as I mean all,
and I have said, altho I guess I haven’t said so very much.
I have been too sleepy tonight to think very deeply and will write you again with perhaps
more sense.

Have been trying to do two men’s work for past two days and am somewhat tired of it. A
new man comes to-morrow so I will be relieved to some extent.

Don’t think I will be home early enough any night this week to see you so you may have to
wait until Saturday for our next holiday.

Write me again about Ethel’s condition and say if there is anything I can send her to
brighten things a little.

Am glad you reminded me to get the crayons for in the rush they entirely slipped my mind.
Ruthy Dearest, I want to thank you for that precious letter received to-day and all your
sweet devotion to me. In return I give you Pet, my lifelong and eternal love, and it will be my
lifelong pleasure to work for the securing of the most possible happiness and comfort for you.

I did not come home last night but remained up town with Ed. Am feeling all right again.
With best wishes and a good night kiss, I am

As ever yours

Will

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 15, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “There Will Be No Parting Then

  1. fabryhistory

    June 15, 2013 at 7:46 pm

    I adore William – what a romantic!

     

Leave a Reply

 
