RSS

That Influence of Your Secret Presence

12 Jun
Ruth

Ruth, 1898

Summit, NJ
Feb 4, 1898

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth Barrell

My own Dearest Ruthy:

In the midst of the rush today, like sweet music suddenly breaking upon the ears of
one used only to the harshest noises, your letter came to me about noon. It happened to
be the busiest time of all the week for me but howsoever it would have to have been at the
point of a bayonet that I should have refrained from taking time to read your delightful
letter then and there, had it been “a mile long.” Well, Ruth Dearest, I had not abandoned
the hope of seeing you tonight until I read of your uncertainty of seeing me. I had gone to
the city this morning with every intention of so pursuing my work as to get away, for Dear
knows this has been a long week for me, Ruth away from you and so much to myself, and
I’ve grown very weary of my own company, night in and night out. I started to write you last
night to say I couldn’t possibly get away tonight, for then I could not see my way clear, but
even then impatience seized me. I discarded the half page I had written and concluded I
must get away early tonight whether or no, so did what was necessary in preparation and
went to sleep with the soothing thought that less than 24 hours would bring us together
again after what seemed an almost endless separation. Then your dear letter came along
and altho it made me wait a day longer it brought with it that influence of your secret
presence that made it easier for me to wait a bit longer. 

I’m very glad you wrote to my business address, for had you not it is doubtful if I
would have received it until some time next week.

I went to sleep twice while writing the above and it would be tiresome for you,
should I try to write a long letter for it could hardly be interesting. We shall be together
tomorrow my Dearest Ruth, and shall talk of what I am too sleepy to write now.

I will come out on the usual train (3:20) and shall be delighted to find you, Love, at
Summit, to give the double pleasure of your company home and a real sleigh ride, the very
first of the season.

It was perhaps just as well for you to send Helen and Graham’s kisses, for
tomorrow, by a personal delivery, it might be hard to discriminate; don’t you think? Am glad
of Ethel’s success and that everything is lovely for the new term.

Must bid you a loving good night, with a kiss now, and get to bed and live out the
second half of your advice. (I did the first full justice.)

This has been grand weather, but is weakening tonight. Hope it keeps up two days
longer anyway.

With best of love and wishes for your entire welfare, I am Dearest Ruth,

Your own

Will

Pardon all this letter and oblige

Your Willy

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 12, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
