RSS

Will Try Not to be So Thoughtless in the Future

01 Jun

22 Cliff St, NY
Jan 4, 1898

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth Barrell

My dearest Ruth:

Without hustling very fast, I succeeded in getting my overcoat and the 7:10 train
down thanks to your kindness in having a breakfast ready so early.

I can’t quite shake off a feeling of guilt for having imposed upon you last night and
causing Mama considerable worry for not having returned, she thinking in all probability I
had gone through the ice never to be heard of again. What a silly idea a mother does have
as to the dangers constantly threatening her children when they are out of her sight.

Imagine my drowning in the Passaic near N. P. where the depth doesn’t average four feet.
Still most mothers will have these fears and I should have been more considerate. 

Having a very few minutes to get my coat and get to the station, I didn’t go upstairs,
so I didn’t see Mama although I had intended to do so but was completely upset by the
greeting I received from Ed which involved a lot of uncomplimentary names and I was glad
to get out of the house as quickly as possible.

I don’t know why I am telling you all this, but somehow I felt it keenly and it was not
until I was seated in the train and had time to think that my thoughts reverted to last night
and the earlier morning, then all became allright. I come to you Dearest for forgiveness,
and will try not to be so thoughtless in the future.

My Dearest Ruthy, I send you my best love and wishes for your welfare today and
forever.

Always yours

Will

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 1, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Will Try Not to be So Thoughtless in the Future

  1. Sheryl

    June 1, 2013 at 9:49 am

    What a fun letter!

     
    • Jenny

      June 1, 2013 at 5:01 pm

      Will had gotten caught in a snow storm and had to stay at the Barrell’s house overnight. They actually had an apartment for boarders, so he stayed occasionally. Apparently his family was worried about him because they didn’t know where he was and the weather was so bad 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
