RSS

Tonight Even the Separated Will Be Together

19 May
Will's sister, Hessie

Will’s sister, Hessie

22 Cliff St, New York
Nov 6, 1897

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth Barrell

My Dearest Ruth:

Just a few lines for you to receive tonight, and then to hustle.

I don’t expect to get through today until late and then I am to meet Mama and put
her safely on train for Queens, L. I., where she is going to spend Sunday with Hessie.So
when I get to Summit it will be after dark and too late to go to your house. In being away
from you this afternoon I sacrificed my greatest pleasure, but I was the only one to pilot
Mama to 31st St and in consequence will have to wait until tomorrow to be with you.

I notice that this is going to be a perfect day and I hope tomorrow will be its
counterpart. Will see you at church or after church if all goes well, and with your
permission will spend the remainder of the day with you.

If not with you tonight will be very near you and tonight even the separated will be
together as my thoughts will be divided between recollections of last Saturday and the
good times of our future.

Goodbye my Dearest until tomorrow.

Ever your own

Will

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 19, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
