RSS

Your Letters Are Part of the Remedy I Could Not Do Without

11 May
Ruth

Ruth

22 Cliff St, NY
Sept 15, 1897

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth Barrell

My Dear Ruth:

Just a few lines to night and then to bed for although feeling much better am rather
tired out.

I expected to hear from you tonight and of course was not disappointed. O Ruth,
how lucky we are to have the U. S. mail to fall back on, on occasions like this. To be
denied the pleasure of being with you is to me the worst part of being unwell, and your
letters are a part of the remedy I could not do without.

Well Ruth, I don’t know what to think of myself: getting sick for the slightest cause. I
suppose I shall have to follow Dr. G’s advice, and will try to do all he told me. Of course
I shall need your help.

Let us talk about something else, Ruth, for a little while. I am really giving more
thought to next week than my late illness, so you see I am not worrying. It may be that I
shall have to forego our much thought of trip to Hopatcong, which is another great sacrifice
in order to get well. We can postpone it for some holiday, Election Day, if it is not too cold. 

Before our Albany trip, we can go for short rides, either bicycle or wagon, or what
might be best for me, walk. We might go to Albany a day earlier, if the weather promises to
be good and remaining two days instead of one. I am only trying to think of ways to
improve all our time which will be only too short. Think of what we can do, Ruth, and have
the programme prepared when next I see you, which I hope will be Saturday. If I can get
away, will go to Murray Hill on the 1:20 from NY and be with you about 3 and will, in order
to adhere to the Dr’s advice, leave you at night fall. I hope this limitation will not be for
long.

I will mail this from Summit tomorrow morning and you will perhaps receive from NY
in the same mail a small package of something or other. They are not kisses but are even
sweeter and certainly more substantial. I will send you some of the latter too on the
honeysuckle which I shall pluck tomorrow.

Am glad you are so well and happy, and will be impatient for Saturday’s coming,
when I can see my Dear Ruth once more.

I will be in bed in five minutes Ruth, so goodnight, Pet.

Yours as ever,

Wm. A Gray

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 11, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Your Letters Are Part of the Remedy I Could Not Do Without

  1. Kathryn

    May 11, 2013 at 11:48 am

    I wandered in from the Geneabloggers site. Very interesting reading and how wonderful to have the letters. Welcome to the Geneabloggers community! Kathryn

     
    • Jenny

      May 11, 2013 at 3:38 pm

      Thank you!

       
  2. GRANT DAVIS

    May 12, 2013 at 12:15 am

    Welcome to Geneabloggers.

    Regards, Grant

    http://thestephensherwoodletters.blogspot.com

     
  3. Deborah

    May 12, 2013 at 6:42 am

    Welcome to Geneabloggers! Love that you are sharing these great letters and the stories they tell.

     
  4. Jenny

    May 12, 2013 at 7:48 am

    Thanks for the welcome, everyone!

     

Leave a Reply

 
