RSS

Tufting Comfortables

31 Mar

Letter Image 1896 Flowers

Summit, NJ
May 3, 1896

From: William A Gray
To: Ruth Barrell, % Mrs James Myrick, 279 Gates Ave, Brooklyn, NY

Dear Ruth:

This morning dawned very dark and gloomy and continued so until your letter
arrived, which seemed to me to be an agreeable substitute for the sun which has failed to
appear thus far.

Your letter was the first intimation I have received of the postponement of your visit,
until Wednesday, but this is not strange, in view of the fact that I spend 24 hours of the day
in this isolated place (Amber Lodge) and am almost as remote from the affairs of the rest
of the world as though I were an occupant of the planet Mars.

I must confess my ignorance of what you mean by that peculiar past time “tufting
comfortables.” I should rather call it, tufting uncomfortables, as it seems to have the
tendency to give one a head-ache. Isn’t that work rather unseasonable for now? The mere
thought of the weather we’ve recently gone through would have given me a sort of
incurable head-ache. I confess it isn’t so today, for I could have used a couple of them last
night without having felt any different than their name implies in the singular. 

Ruth, don’t do anything that makes your head ache, there are lots of more
agreeable kinds of diversion.

I was to Prayer Meeting last night. Regardless of Mr Hooper’s earnest desire that
the young come out in force, very few were there and altogether, I think the attendance
was hardly up to the average. If those who remained away, because of their dislike of the
monotony of Missionary subjects, had been there they would have been agreeably
surprised.

Rev and Mrs Hooper

Rev and Mrs Hooper

Mr Hooper’s remarks I thought were very interesting and I wasn’t the least bit tired or
sleepy when he got through.

I didn’t wait to hear but, Miss Morris was there, and from the looking music I saw in
the choirmasters (Amos) hands I judge they were going to sing.

It goes without saying that your absence from church, Sunday, will lose for you a
rare musical treat.

Ed has finally taken possession of ye Summit Herald, and although this weeks issue
will appear under the old management, Ed will control the next.

I believe Mr Scott is to receive his retirement and Al Kent is to take his place. The
paper will immediately go under the process of renovation, which it so badly needs, and of
course it will be a matter of some interest to see the result.

I shall certainly be happy to comply with your orders and meet you at the 4.20 from
New York. If not the 4.20 perhaps the 4.43, 5.17, 5.35, 6.00, 6.10, 6.30, 7.28 or some
other. Don’t telegraph, I’ll wait.

Su atento servid or,

W A G

P.S. I write this hurriedly and when I hurry my writing, it is almost as illegible as
Horace Greely’s.

The above combined with the fact that my writing has the tendency to run to books,
from excessive stenography practice will certainly make the task of reading this not a very
agreeable one, and I humbly ask your pardon for being the perpetrator.

Will

I had folded this letter, when I remembered my neglect to acknowledge the well
wishes of Mr Myrick.

Kindly remember me to Mr and Mrs Myrick — also tell him I hope to have the
pleasure of playing a croquet with him sometime this summer. We might also beat him at
whist.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 31, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
