RSS

Tied Up in Red Flannel

29 Mar
Back: Joe, Bessie, Ruth. Front: Dolly, Bob, Ethel 1895

Back: Joe, Bessie, Ruth. Front: Dolly, Bob, Ethel 1895

Summit, NJ
Sept 28, 1895

From: William A Gray (ill at home)
To: Ruth Barrell, New Providence, NJ

Dear Ruth:

I am not a sort to appeal to the aesthetic at this moment. Completely tied up in red
flannel, my head and finger ends being the only exposed parts, to say nothing of the triple
harvest of ______? that exists on my countenance and seems to be crying out for the
reaper, or sickle or something else.

Words can hardly express my gratitude and appreciation of your kindness in coming
so often. I am on the mend and promise to be presentable the next time you call, which
occasion I shall await with pleasure.

I was going to say something else, but since you started playing my thoughts have
all been on that Shadows on the Water and Plymouth Bells and the middle selection all
arouse the sweetest memories. I will stop trying to write & listen which lately I can at least
do well.

Sincerely as ever

Will

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 29, 2013 in Family History

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
